Pages

Thursday, September 3, 2015

Water Princess, Fire Prince Blog Tour: Book Review

Hello, everyone! I'm back, this time with my promised review of Water Princess, Fire Prince. Enjoy!
***
There are many ways to write portal fantasy. Quite a few, sadly, are distinctly non-awesome. In Water Princess, Fire Prince, however, Kendra E. Ardnek found one of the awesome ways.

There are four main things that I love about this book. The first two are characters. First is Laura, who although a secondary character, is one of the most intriguing people in the story. She's fun and absolutely fascinating, though I can't tell you why- spoilers! Second is Andrew, one of the two main characters. I loved Andrew from his very first line; his steady, quiet personality, his protectiveness, and his sense of responsibility all make him awesome, while his reluctance to accept his place in Klarand and struggle to figure out the path ahead of him make him real (and relatable). His relationship with Clara- the third thing I love- is also funny and rather sweet and adorable once it really gets going, and filled with quotes and references from the start. (Fact: if a couple, any couple, can carry on a conversation in book quotes and references, they get awesomeness points.) The fourth main thing I love in this book is the worldbuilding. From the first few Klarand chapters, I could tell that, when it came to creating her world, Kendra let her imagination run free, making Klarand unique and (literally) colorful.

However, the book does have one or two faults. One of the biggest can, unsurprisingly, be found with a certain character: Clara. For most of the book's first part, I struggled to connect with Clara. Her stubbornness and certain of her choices annoyed me, and her skills threatened my suspension of disbelief and occasionally made her seem a bit (dare I say it?) Mary-Sue-ish. Thankfully, once Andrew came into the picture to balance her out, she improved quite a bit. Otherwise, there were no major issues.

Overall, Water Princess, Fire Prince is a fun and exciting addition to the portal fantasy genre. Fans of The Chronicles of Narnia and The Door Within trilogy will definitely enjoy this unique adventure through a fascinating world.

I received a free copy of Water Princess, Fire Prince from the author in exchange for an honest review.


***
About Water Princess, Fire Prince:
When the Lady Dragon does come,
Hold fast, do not fear, do not run.
Your Water Princess will fight,
Fire Prince will set all to right.
Each shall come from a Fall,
Their union will save you all.


Despite the fact that she's on track for competing in the Olympics, and he's practically raised his younger brothers since they lost their mom in a car accident, Clara Mandras and Andrew Stevenson are pretty much normal teens. They have normal hopes, normal dreams, and they live in a normal world.

All this is torn away from them when they are thrust into another world and declared Water Princess and Fire Prince. With no experience ruling a country, meeting each other for the first time, and being expected to fight the Lady Dragon – an evil sorceress plaguing the world of Rizkaland – Clara and Andrew are underprepared and inexperienced. Unless they learn to work together despite their standing opposition, Rizkaland's hope will be lost.

What is to come will change their lives forever.



***


About the Author:



Kendra E. Ardnek loves fairy tales and twisting them in new and exciting ways.  She's been practicing her skills on her dozen plus cousins and siblings for years, "Finish your story, Kendra", is frequently heard at family gatherings.  Her sole life goal has always been to grow up and be an author of fantasy and children's tales that also glorify God and his Word. You can read more about her on her blog,knittedbygodsplan.blogspot.com.



Tour Schedule:

August 31st
Here: Introductory Post
Interviews:
Overactive Imagination - Jakob
Flights from the Aerie - Me
Elvish Pens, Fantastical Writings - Me
Reviews:
Shire Reviews
Scattered Journal Pages
A Heart Redeemed

September 1st
Here: Book 2 Title Reveal
Blogs Also Revealing:
Flights from Aerie
Morgan Elizabeth Huneke
Lianne Taimenlore
Dolls, Books, and Things that Matter
Writing in the Light
Jaye L. Knight
writinganyone
Written Rest
Read, Write, Laugh, DANCE
Interviews:
Dreams and Dragons - Laura
The Rambling Rose - Jasmine
Other:
Book Crazy Lady - review and interview

September 2nd

Here: Books and Such that have Influenced WPFP
Interviews:
Scattered Journal Pages - Clara
Read, Write, Laugh, DANCE - Me
Writing in the Light - Me
Reviews:
Anything, Everything
writinganyone
Written Rest

September 3rd
My Blog: Ships I Ship Because of this Book
Interviews:
Flights from the Aerie - Andrew
Written Rest - Kiona
Lianne Taimenlore - me
Reviews:
A Writer's Heart
Dreams and Dragons
Other:
Kedurah's Korner - Review and Interview
Facebook Party!!! (RSPV Now!)

September 4th
Here: The Initiation
Interviews:
Morgan Elizabeth Huneke - Amber
The Splendor Falls on Castle Walls - Jill Anna
A Heart Redeemed - Me
Jaye L. Knight - Me
Reviews:
Dolls, Books, and Things That Matter
Sutori no Hana
Overactive Imagination - Group review with the Blogger's Younger sisters!

September 5th
Here: Looking Back - A Writing Journey
Interviews:
Dolls, Books, and Things that Matter - Abraham
Dreams and Dragons - Me
writinganyone - Me
Reviews:
Lianne Taimenlore
Flights from Aerie - Dual Review with the Blogger's Younger Brother!
Elvish Pens, Fantastical Writings.

September 7th
Tour Wrap-Up at My Blog!



Free Books!
31st-4th:


Do You Take This Quest? http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00CFDHFT4/

31st ONLY:

My Kingdom for a Quest: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00RN7T004

1st – 5th:



6 comments:

  1. Laura, Andrew, Clara, and worldbuilding. Great way to sum it up.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I think Rizkaland is my favourite fantasy world.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It's not my all-time favorite, but it is pretty awesome. *nods* Thanks for reading/commenting!

      Delete
  3. I like your review! Especially the third thing you love: Clarand. Awesome. Definitely one of my favorite aspects.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks! And I'm not surprised by that . . .

      Delete